jump to navigation

Prayer…the often neglected Christian discipline July 2, 2010

Posted by Jeremy in ASU, books.
trackback

I’m currently reading a book entitled Prayer by Richard Foster.  Over the past year or so I’ve thought more and more about prayer.  What it means to pray, How to pray, the purpose of prayer in the Christian’s life, along with many other questions.  Questions that I think are often not talked about in churches (as far as educating lay members) and not thought much about in families (other than “you’re suppose to pray at….meals, during bible study, and at night, etc.).

I’ve only just begun this book, on page 60, but have really enjoyed it so far.  It’s stretching me, in good ways.  Teaching me more about prayer and beginning to give me answers to some of my questions or at least providing me a vocabulary and direction to further think about my questions.  Part of my reasons for reading this book is personal but it is also a book I am going to go through with our prayer team at App State’s InterVarsity chapter next year.  I’m really excited to see how the Lord meets me during the process of reading it personally and leading a group of 5 or so students.

If you’re looking for a book on prayer I encourage you to check out this book.  The chapter are short (which I enjoy) so you can finish a chapter pretty quickly.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

