jump to navigation

Lees-McRae September 10, 2008

Posted by Jeremy in Lees-McRae.
trackback

I’ve started my ministry on the campus of Lees-McRae. For those of you that don’t know. I am also the campus staff for Lees-McRae college (LMC). We are planting a chapter there so I’m completely starting from the ground up.

I was on campus last Tuesday night for an interest meeting and had 4 freshman girls come. I got emails from about 6 or 8 other people who were interested in getting involved but couldn’t come to the meeting. It so happened that there was audition for the schools drama team and a bulk of the students were at that.  I brought some drinks and snacks for everyone and we spent a bit of time introducing ourselves and talking about why they were all come out.  Then I spent some time explaining what InterVarsity is and what my vision for the campus was.  They were very excited about me being on campus and starting this up.  I told them that we were going to start a bible study every Tuesday night and I would be leading it.  I also encouraged them to spread the word and bring other folks.

Last night I had my second meeting at LMC and I had 8 people show up (I doubled in size!! :)), one guy and 7 guys.  50% of the people were minority which got me very excited as most of you know that I have a heart for racial reconciliation (as does InterVarsity).  We played some icebreaker games, the m&m game and also went around the room saying who the most famous person you ever came in contact was.  Then we started our bible study.  I picked the book of Luke for us to begin going through.  We only went through the first 4 verse but it was really sweet.  Everyone was very involved in the discussion of the passage.

Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves a lot and several of them made it a point to tell me they would definitely be back next week.  I got to talk to one of the folks after our time and had a great conversation about his faith and were he is at right now.  We are going to start meeting each Tuesday for a time of discipleship.

I’m excited to see what God is going to do on this campus and through me!!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

